Ancient Civilizations Topper

Maryam's Magic: The Story Of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani

214361

Regular price $22.99
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!
Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani [Megan Reid] [Illustrator Aaliya Jaleel] Children, Juvenile Literature.

From Althea Gibson author Megan Reid and rising star artist Aaliya Jaleel, illustrator of Under My Hijab, comes the first picture book about trailblazing mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman to win the world's most prestigious honor in mathematics. Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars.

As a little girl, Maryam Mirzakhani was spellbound by stories. She loved reading in Tehrans crowded bookstores, and at home she'd spend hours crafting her own tales on giant rolls of paper.

Maryam loved school, especially her classes in reading and writing. But she did not like math. Numbers were nowhere near as interesting as the bold, adventurous characters she found in books. Until Maryam unexpectedly discovered a new genre of storytelling: In geometry, numbers became shapes, each with its own fascinating personality—making every equation a brilliant story waiting to be told.

As an adult, Maryam became a professor, inventing new formulas to solve some of math's most complicated puzzles. And she made history by becoming the first woman—and the first Iranian—to win the Fields Medal, mathematics’ highest award.

Maryam's Magic is the true story of a girl whose creativity and love of stories helped here and the world to see math in a new and inspiring way.


Recently viewed